Newsletter | July 2019

Talis Logo1_no backgroundinstagram logopinterest iconspotify icontwitter logofacebookgoodreads logoamazon icon small

Hello everyone!

I hope you’re surviving the summer! Where I live it’s been regularly hitting the 90s and triple digits with high humidity. And do you want to know what that means? I am firmly, happily, securely indoors. Haha! I just don’t know how people survived back in the day before electric fans and air conditioning! It’s been a long time since I used to live up north in the land of snow so one would think I’d have acclimated by now but nope! I absolutely despise the heat and humidity. EW. So hopefully wherever you are the weather is much kinder and/or you have access to some way to keep yourself cool.

sail away gif.gif

The summer is also the season of vacations! So if you find yourself going on a trip and looking for a bit of entertainment how about…a book? One of my own perhaps? 😉

Now to jump back into July! For those of you who missed it, Solus (Walking Shadows #2) is officially out as well as Dust to Dust (Walking Shadows #1.5) so be sure to buy a copy to enjoy! Solus takes on Bones’ journey 7 years after the end of Alarum and personally he’s one of my favorite characters. Dust to Dust is a novella following Fury and Riker’s “love story” while also revealing just how Riker ended up in that prison cell in Part II of Alarum so you won’t want to miss out on that fun!

Aussie w: Walking Shadows

And I hope you don’t mind but I’d also like to take a minute to remind you to please leave a review on Amazon and Goodreads when you read any of my books. Reviews and ratings really truly help authors, especially self-published ones. Honestly it’s one of the greatest ways you can show your support for an author besides buying their book of course. ♥ (I’m trying really hard not to beg but…I’m low-key begging haha)

Due to all that eye surgery stuff earlier this year my writing schedule has gotten off track so I might have to push back some projects but I’ll do my absolute best to keep to my goal of giving you three books a year. Unfortunately (or fortunately?) I prefer quality over quantity and even though that might mean less income for me and disappointment for you, my beloved readers, I think in the long run it’s worth it. I would hate to rush and give you something neither of us enjoys. Currently I’m hard at work in my writing cave on the final book in the Otherworld series, Wings of Ruin, and once that’s finished I’ll be diving into the third book in the Walking Shadows series. I have so many books and novellas I want to write it’s driving me insane that I can’t magically write them all at once haha! Anyway, I’ll keep you up to date on how things progress.

my desk_2016

Well, that’s it for this newsletter. I know it’s quite short but it’s so hot my brain is struggling and if it’s hot where you are then I doubt you want to spend your time reading a lengthy newsletter anyhow.

Until next time! Stay tuned…

Talis Logo1_no background

📖Current Read

Heroine
by Mindy McGinnis

YA Contemporary Fiction

heroine.jpg

Mindy McGinnis is an author with a talent for tackling the tough subjects and doing it well. I absolutely loved her book The Female of the Species and was excited to finally get my hands on Heroine! I finished this one in a single day, it was truly well done.
(click the book cover to read the description)

🎧Current Tune

“We Were There (Diesel Dazzle, 1966)”
by General Motors

Ever since watching the documentary “Bathtubs Over Broadway” on Netflix I’ve become hooked on industrial musicals! It’s not a big surprise as I’m already a longtime Broadway fan and these songs, although written for sales, are undeniably catchy. Several famous Broadway composers, lyricists, actors, and more actually got their start working on industrials! I absolutely recommend you go watch the documentary!

I couldn’t resist doing my own little photo shoot inspired by “My Bathroom” from The Bathrooms Are Coming! by American Standard. These industrial musicals are just so catchy!


Alarum promo banner_v5